Covergirl Lip Perfection Jumbo Gloss Balm

20130628-150058.jpg

The Covergirl Lip Perfection Jumbo Gloss Balm has been sitting in my makeup container for awhile. As I have said before, I’m not much into maintenance for makeup and I feel that most lip products require constant maintenance and reapplication. That being said, I have a bunch of lip products just waiting to be used.

This is the first on my list. I have tried the Revlon equivalent to this and I actually liked it. The Covergirl “Gloss Balm” comes in a chunky pencil shaped tube that is brown with a colored top that matches the product color. The color I picked is number 210 and for the life of me, I cannot find the name. I am wondering if it even came with one because the actual product doesn’t have one.

The thing I hate about these is that they have a plastic around the tube and many times, people open them up to try it so a word of advice: inspect the tube to make sure the plastic protection is fully secured. While mine was fully secured, I later found out that somewhere inside the tube, the balm broke so it takes some care to apply this product. (I was too lazy to bring it back…don’t judge me, I made it work! đŸ™‚ .) The balm is in a swivel tube that lets you slide it up when it is running low so I can imagine that the rougher you are, the easier it will be to break the product on the inside.

20130628-151614.jpg

As you can tell from the photos, the color is a soft pink. The color takes a bit of work to come out. The smell is rather annoying because it smells like wax and the cheap lipstick you had as a little girl. The feel of the balm on my lips is smooth but not overwhelming. I do not have that constant reminder that I have lipstick on….which can become a problem.

The left photo on the bottom is after an hour and a half plus a cup of tea. I did not find much residue on my tea cup but I did find that this product disappeared before I had the chance to even realize it. The reason I thought it was on my lips is because it does leave your lips feeling smooth. While I don’t think this moisturizes, I do feel that it smooths over the imperfections on your lips….for the time being.

It is called a gloss because well…it has the lasting power of a cheap gloss. The staying power of this balm is horrible. I feel that this product would be amazing over a complimenting lip stain though. It would give just enough moisture to your lips to offset the stain. I cannot imagine any other way I would use this if it weren’t paired with something. I feel that Revlon beat Covergirl in this department. I will have to review that product eventually.

Would I recommend this? Well, I would say no because there are other products on the market that are the equivalent to this and are made better. I would continue using this because I have it but I would definitely have to find a good pair with this.

Final Rating: 3.5/10

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. rukshaar000
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 04:48:36

    I just did a review in this myself lol what a coincidence! Yours was much more deitailed though! Good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Owl U Need is Luv

A Fun Beauty Blog//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({ google_ad_client: "ca-pub-1062481729756293", enable_page_level_ads: true });

Alexa Makeup Beauty

Beauty - LoVe - Make'up

Beauty Geek

My beautiful obsession

